The reconciliation of the genders

man and woman wearing brown leather jackets

I have been deliberately quiet here for a long time. I needed to stop and to listen.

I heard a whisper, the faint sound of change. The faint sound of resolution. And when I was silent, then I heard it. It was there, it is there: acceptance and forgiveness.

And that is when I began to recognise a familiar pattern to what was happening in this whole feminism / masculinity debate. This awakening.

It is the stages of grief, 5 or 7 it doesnt really matter:

  1. Shock
  2. Denial
  3. Anger
  4. Bargaining
  5. Depression
  6. Testing
  7. Acceptance

It turns out that this is how some many of these things happen. They follow the sequence. We need to go through each stage before we can move onto another and that is why I am so hopeful about this whole gender role discussion that the world is having.

Sure, it got ugly at times and it will get ugly again, but eventually we will find forgiveness and acceptance.

We will have done the bargaining and the jostling and the testing and we will redefine how the genders work. We will know so much more than we knew when we began and we will learn to love again.

I have faith in humanity. We will reconcile our differences. We always have done, always do, eventually.

In the meantime lets just keep on talking. No more denial, no more anger and no more blame.

Photo by Vera Arsic on

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: